Eleven Honored With Awards At NCAJ Convention 2024

June 19, 2024

NCAJ honored seven lawyers with awards at Convention 2024 on Saturday, June 15, including two state legislators and five NCAJ members whose service to the organization and the people of North Carolina has been exemplary.

  • Hank Patterson received the Founders Award, the highest award given by the Advocates for Justice. The award is given for extraordinary service to justice and to the Advocates for Justice in the tradition of our founding members, Allen Bailey, Charles Blanchard, James Clontz, Eugene Phillips and William Thorp.
  • Rebecca Britton received the Thurgood Marshall Award, which recognizes extraordinary and selfless service to the people of North Carolina in keeping with the legacy of Justice Thurgood Marshall.
  • Sen. Dan Blue received the Annie Brown Kennedy Award, given for commitment to acquiring full freedom for all citizens of North Carolina and exceptional advocacy that protects individual liberties. The award recognizes active service in their local community with a focus on the status and welfare of families and minority citizens.
  • Sen. Warren Daniel received the Outstanding Legislator Award.

In addition, NCAJ renamed its Special Award the Henson McCabe Miller Leadership Award in honor of David Henson, John McCabe and Stacy Miller. In presenting the award, President-elect Kevin Bunn said the new name recognizes the work the three men have done to further NCAJ’s legislative causes in recent years.

“In my 20 years, I’ve not seen things happen at the legislature for NCAJ the way they have happened in the past two years,” Bunn said. “We have won on issues where we had been shut down for decades. We have been asked to weigh in on conversations where our voice wasn’t welcome before. We have been offered a seat at the table in rooms where not too long ago we couldn’t get a foot in the door.”

“Those of us who have watched this happen felt like we had to take notice of the work of three gentlemen who were instrumental in making it happen. … David, John and Stacy, your leadership, your foresight, your courage and your financial support have opened doors for NCAJ that have long been closed. You have been key to bringing about monumental change for this organization, for our members, for our clients and for the people of North Carolina. In honor of that, we recognize your efforts today by renaming the NCAJ Special Award the Henson McCabe Miller Leadership Award, and it will be known by that name henceforth.”

Also during Convention, President Andy Banzhoff presented four Ebbie Awards. The Ebbie Award was established in 2003 in honor of Ebbie Bailey, wife of founding member Allen Bailey. The president of NCAJ gives this award to members and professional team members in recognition of service and inspired commitment to the organization. This year’s recipients were:

  • Sen. Danny Britt
  • Courtney Jones, NCAJ Director of Administration
  • Hallie Kennedy, NCAJ Senior Director of Marketing & Strategic Initiatives
  • Sam McGee, NCAJ Legal Affairs Counsel