Campbell Law Honors Four 2024 Grads With NCAJ Awards

May 20, 2024

Four graduates of Campbell University’s Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law Class of 2024 earned recognition from NCAJ when the school held its 45th hooding and graduation ceremony on May 12.

Jay Calvin Thomas of Apex earned the Calhoun Advocacy Award, which recognizes the best performance in the trial and appellate advocacy program. The advocacy faculty of the law school chooses the winner. The award is sponsored by 1980 Campbell Law graduate M. Jean Calhoun in association with NCAJ.

While at Campbell, Thomas has exhibited leadership in co-curricular and extra-curricular activities, all with a high degree of professionalism. He served as a member of the mock trial and moot court teams during both his second and third year of law school. Thomas and his teammates were quarterfinalists at the Stetson National Pretrial Competition, and in his third year, he competed in the ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition and the National Veteran’s Law Moot Court Competition. In addition, he was a member of the Campbell Law Review and served as the Bluebook Editor. Thomas also received the Book Award for Statutory Interpretation. Thomas is a unique, all-around advocate who can step into any arena and represent clients with vigor.

NCAJ Student Advocacy Awards went to, pictured below left to right:

  • Emily Grace Askew of Raleigh
  • Julian Andres Manrique of Hickory
  • Emily Rose Murphy of Cameron

The trial advocacy faculty of the law school selects these award winners. The awards go to the students showing the most significant improvement during their required trial advocacy performance sections as evidenced by their performance and grade; leadership endeavors; academic success; and collegial respect and work ethic. The awards are sponsored by the North Carolina Advocates for Justice.