Criminal Defense Section

We provide members with cutting-edge analysis and the tools to fight for their clients. Using the listserv, our state-wide, diverse membership participates in current conversations on evolving issues, and our Annual Convention and other events provide networking opportunities. We offer CLE courses and case assistance, including moot exercises and amicus assistance provided by foremost practitioners. Our section is the only organization that supports dedicated lobbying for criminal defense legislation in North Carolina.

2021-2022 Criminal Defense Section Leadership

Chair | Allison Garren, Teddy Meekins & Talbert, PLLC  
Vice Chair | Margaret Teich, Brazil & Burke, P.A.  
Secretary | Emily Gibson, Gibson Law, PLLC 
Immediate Past Chair | Phil Dixon, Jr., UNC School of Government 
Diversity & Inclusion Chair | Kristen Dewar, Minick Law, P.C. 
Education Co-Chair | LeAnn Melton, M. LeAnn Melton, Attorney at Law 
Education Co-Chair | Anthony Monaghan, Mecklenburg County Public Defender’s Office
Legal Affairs Chair | Christopher Heaney, North Carolina Prison Legal Services 
Legislative Co-Chair | Cynthia Everson, Everson Law Office, PLLC 
Legislative Co-Chair | Thomas Maher, Law Offices of Amos Tyndall, PLLC 
Membership Co-Chair | Dionne Gonder-Stanley, NCCU School of Law – will be chair 2022-2023* 
Membership Co-Chair | Ben Hiltzheimer, Hiltzheimer Law Office, PLLC 
Membership Co-Chair | Belal Elrahal, Mecklenburg County Public Defender’s Office 
Public Service Chair | Sarah Olson, IDS-Forensic Resource Attorney 
NCBA Criminal Justice Section Liaison | William Fay, Fay Grafton Nunez 
Sentencing Commission Liaison | Lindsey Granados, The Law Offices of Wiley Nickel, PLLC

Already a Member? Visit the E-Community

Connect Today