NCAJ To Honor 21 Members and Friends With Awards At Convention 2022

May 18, 2022

NCAJ will celebrate those who embody the spirit and mission of the organization with awards to be presented during Annual Meeting at Convention 2022 in Charlotte on Saturday, June 18.

The organization’s highest award, the Founders Award, will go to former NCAJ President Phil Baddour. Formerly the Walter Clark Award, this honor has been renamed. Read about the name change here. Explore the Convention 2022 site for bios of the other award winners, including:

  • Chuck Monnett, Thurgood Marshall Award for extraordinary and selfless service to the people of North Carolina in keeping with the legacy of Justice Thurgood Marshall
  • James Williams, Annie Brown Kennedy Award for commitment to acquiring full freedom for all citizens of North Carolina and exceptional advocacy that protects individual liberties
  • Elliot Abrams, Raymond Tarlton, Henry McCollum and Leon Brown, Kellie Crabtree Award for a case in which the clients’ stories and the attorneys’ representation has made a real difference in protecting people’s rights
  • Scott Heldman, Robby Price Award for a paralegal who has made significant contributions in the fight for justice on behalf of their clients and North Carolinians
  • Doug Maynard, NCAJ Special Award for outstanding leadership and assistance in special circumstances
  • Ames Alexander, Excellence in Journalism Award
  • Justice Robin Hudson, Outstanding Appellate Justice Award
  • Sen. Sydney Batch, Outstanding Legislator Award
  • Judge Steven Warren, Outstanding Trial Judge Award

In addition, President John McCabe will present eight Ebbie Awards in recognition of service and inspired commitment to the organization. The Ebbies will go to:

  • Doug Abrams
  • Michele Cybulski
  • Allison Garren
  • Anna Kalarites
  • Lauren McAndrew
  • Stacy Miller
  • Lauren Newton
  • Aindrea Pledger